New leadership revealed for Dorset Council after Lib Dems’ election win

NEW leadership at Dorset Council has begun.

Following the Liberal Democrats’ emergence as the largest party at the recent local elections, the party has unveiled the cabinet that will lead the authority.

Appointments to key roles were agreed at the Annual Meeting of Dorset Council on Thursday (May 16).

Councillors were asked to vote on appointments to roles including leader of the council, chair and vice chair of the council and committee chairs.

Cllr Nick Ireland has been appointed leader, with Cllr Richard Biggs as deputy leader.

The chair is Cllr Stella Jones and the vice chair is Cllr Les Fry.

The full cabinet at Dorset Council is as follows:
Cllr Nick Ireland: Leader, Portfolio Holder for Governance, Performance, Communications, Environment, Climate Change and Safeguarding
Cllr Richard Biggs: Deputy Leader, Portfolio Holder for Property & Assets, Economic Growth & Levelling Up
Cllr Simon Clifford: Portfolio Holder for Finance & Capital Strategy
Cllr Ryan Holloway: Portfolio Holder for Corporate Development, Transformation, Digital & Change
Cllr Jon Andrews: Portfolio Holder for Place Commissioned Services (Highways, Waste, Travel, Leisure etc.)
Cllr Clare Sutton: Portfolio Holder for Children’s Services, Education & Skills
Cllr Steve Robinson: Portfolio Holder for Adult Social Care
Cllr Gill Taylor: Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Environmental Health, Housing, Community Safety and Regulatory Service
Cllr Shane Bartlett: Portfolio Holder for Planning and Emergency Planning
Cllr Ryan Hope: Portfolio Holder for Customer, Culture and Community Engagement

Chairs of committees are:
People & Health Overview Committee: Cllr Beryl Ezzard
People & Health Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Toni Coombs
Place & Resources Overview Committee: Cllr Andy Canning
Place & Resources Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Noc Lacey-Clarke
Audit & Governance Committee: Cllr Gary Suttle
Appeals Committee: Cllr Andrew Starr
Harbours Advisory Committee: Cllr Rob Hughes
Licensing Committee: Cllr Derek Beer
Strategic & Technical Planning Committee: Cllr Duncan Sowry-House
Northern Area Planning Committee: Cllr Richard Crabb
Eastern Area Planning Committee: Cllr David Tooke
Western Area Planning Committee: Cllr Dave Bolwell
Pension Fund Committee: Cllr Andy Canning

New leader Nick said: “The new intake of elected members to Dorset Council has added to the strength and depth of skills already present and I’m pleased that the new cabinet reflects this.

“The Liberal Democrats campaigned on a commitment to genuine cross-party working and that process has started tonight in the appointments that we have made.

“We will look to make decision making as local and democratic as possible; listening more to local residents and creating a genuine partnership with town and parish councils.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *