Swans shaded out by last gasp penalty

By Ron Butler.

Swanage & Wareham 18
Yeovil 20
Swans welcomed Yeovil to Bestwall in their latest Southern Counties fixture.
Swans started attacking the Yeovil line but Yeovil’s full back kicked well to put Swans on the back foot.
However, a couple of penalties took Swans into the visitor’s 22 and a further penalty after ten minutes saw Swans full back Steve Woolley convert for their first score.
The game was full of penalties to both sides, and one to Yeovil took them to Swans’ five metres line and from the line-out Yeovil scored a try in the corner after 28 minutes to take the score to 3-5.
Swans dominated the three-quarters play and had several good moves but the Yeovil defence was secure until a minute before the break. Scrum-half Ollie Peters broke clear in the visitor’s 22 and went through to score a try close to the posts. Steve Woolley converted leaving the half-time score Swans 10 Yeovil 5.
Right at the start of the second half, Yeovil gave away a penalty in front of the posts which Woolley put over giving Swans 13 points.

A few penalties to the visitors took them to Swans’ five metres line and from a scrum Yeovil pushed Swans backwards and scored their second try in the corner to take the score to 13-10 after 50 minutes.
Swans soon replied after a scrum on the Yeovil 22 when wing forward Conor Moag broke and dodging the defence went in for a try half way out.
The conversion shaved the post but Swans were 18-10 up after 55 minutes.
Play continued with both sides giving away penalties and scrums until after 68 minutes Yeovil powered through the Swans’ defence to score a try under the posts. This was converted to take the score to 18-17.
In the last ten minutes Swans tried their best but a penalty to Yeovil five minutes from time gave the visitors the lead again at 18-20.

Swans attacked again but Yeovil held firm leaving Swans with just a bonus point.
Swans: S Woolley, O Dillon, EDimescio, M Roberts, S Bowen, W Slack, O Peters, S Kitkat, C Foskett, CPeters, K Salina, M Seaton, J Blackmoore, C Moag, E Bainy, N McMath, J Ginders, R Ferguson.
Other score: Lytchett Minster 1st XV 33 Swans 2nd XV 24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *